de | en | fr | it

Codices Electronici Sangallenses (CESG) - Project Description

The Abbey Library of St. Gall, with its 2,100 manuscripts, is among the oldest and most significant manuscript libraries in the world. Half of the manuscripts, or codices, were produced in the middle ages, with about 400 volumes produced before the year 1000 A.D. UNESCO inscribed the Convent of St. Gall complex as a World Heritage Center in 1983. The goal of the "Codices Electronici Sangallenses" (Digital Library of St. Gall) project is to provide access to medieval and selected early modern manuscripts held by the Abbey Library of St. Gall via a virtual library.

CESG on www.e-codices.unifr.ch

Today, CESG forms one component of a larger successor project, e-codices – Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland. The goal of e-codices is to present all medieval manuscripts and a selection of early modern manuscripts in Switzerland via a virtual library. The history of the origins of CESG and e-codices is described in the article entitled, "Praktische Internet-Ausgabe und Aura des Originals".

Contents

 

Brief Historical Overviewof the Abbey Library of St. Gall

The Abbey Library has been in continuous existence for over 1,200 years. It is the only major medieval monastery library still standing at its original location. Its origins stretch back to the 8th century. Several hundred codices stem from the cultural heyday of the Abbey, the 9th to the 11th century. Abbots Ulrich Rösch and Franz Gaisberg revived the art of bookmaking in the 15th and 16th centuries and purchased book collections from various scholars. The last major influx of medieval codices came between 1767 and 1796, under the direction of the penultimate abbot-prince, Beda Angehrn. Although the Convent of St. Gall lost its abbey status in 1805, the library remained at the same location. It is now run and financed by the Catholic Administration (Katholischer Konfessionsteil) of the State of St. Gall. In 1983, the Abbey of St. Gall was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Center. Today, the Abbey Library is a scholarly library, open to the public and visited by researchers from all over the world. It also attracts many tourists with its world-famous Baroque reading room.

contents

Completed sub-projects

The Virtual Abbey Library of Saint Gall

By the end of 2009, e-codices provided online access to all 355 of the manuscripts held by the Abbey Library of St. Gall written before the year 1000. The web application was also further developed to provide users with faster and easier access to database content. This sub-project was funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (New York).

Codices Augienses et Sangallenses dispersi

In many cases, the manuscripts originally held by medieval libraries have been removed to other locations. This is also the case with the St. Gall and Reichenau manuscripts. By means of a virtual manuscript library, however, scattered collections can be virtually reunified. Under the auspices of this subproject, a total of 40 manuscripts originally held by the Abbeys of St. Gall and Reichenau, now distributed among various collections in Switzerland, will be virtually gathered together by the end of 2009. This subproject was also made possible by support from the Mellon Foundation (New York).

St. Gall's Cultural Assets from Zurich

In the Toggenburg War of 1712, the last religious war of the old Swiss Confederation, the Prince-Abbot of St. Gall was defeated by the forces of Zurich and Bern. Following their invasion of the Cloister of St. Gall, the victors carried away library materials and other cultural assets, dividing them among themselves. After the peace agreement of 1718, most materials were returned, with the exception of a number of valuable manuscripts which remained in Zurich. After almost 300 years, the ongoing, more or less contentious cultural property dispute between St. Gall and Zurich was finally resolved in the spring of 2006. Among the requirements of the compromise were that Zurich return the manuscripts in question to St. Gall on long-term loan, and that the Canton of St. Gall digitize them and make them available on the Internet by the end of 2007. This digitization was funded by the Catholic church membership of the Canton of St. Gall and the St. Gall Bureau of Culture.

St. Gall's Treasure Trove of Monuments of the Old High German Language

Germanists like to refer to the Abbey Library of St. Gall as the "Treasure Trove of Memorials to the Old High German Language". In terms of both quality and magnitude, the St. Gall collection is unmatched as a source of significant documentation of the German language. Thanks to the financial support of the "Friends of the Library", thirteen important Old High German manuscripts were digitized in 2006: Cod. Sang. 21 (Old High German Psalter of Notker the German), 56 (Tatian's Gospel Harmony), 232, 242, 556, 643, 825 (Old High German translation and commentary on Boethius's 'De consolatione philosophiae' by Notker the German), 872 (Notker's Translation and commentary on 'De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii' by Martianus Capella), 904 (Irish Priscian Manuscript), 911 (Abrogans), 913 (St. Gall Vocabulary), 916 (St. Benedict's Rule), and 966.

Pilot Project: Digitale Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen (Digital Abbey Library of St. Gall)

In the pilot project (Running time: January 2005 through December 2006) 130 medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall were digitized. This start-up project was made possible by the following financial supporters: the Paul Schiller Foundation, the UBS Cultural Foundation, the Ernst Göhner Foundation, the Otto Gamma Foundation, the Jubilee Foundation of Swiss Mobiliar Insurance, the Research Funding Foundation of the University of Fribourg, the Jubilee Foundation of the Zurich Insurance Group, and the Friends of the Abbey Library of St. Gall.

contents

Scientific Manuscript Descriptions and Metadata

Three decades ago, before the age of electronic or digital access really began, the Abbey Library began production of a new descriptive catalog of all its medieval manuscripts. Up to that point, catalog resources for the collection as a whole consisted of a printed directory from the year 1875, the catalog of Gustav Scherrer, which included descriptions of codices 1-1725, but proved inadequate for modern scholars due to the rudimentary nature of its indexing.
The new cataloging according to the guidelines of the German Research Community (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft or DFG) was undertaken about thirty years ago. The product of this cataloging initiative resulted in the addition to the record of 480 manuscripts, which have been codicologically (as books) and paleographically (as calligraphy) examined and described in terms of their content and decoration. Among these are some 230 items produced during the middle ages. There is still a long way to go before the minimal goal of cataloging all the medieval manuscripts in the collection is reached.

Literature (see also www.codices.ch):

Scholarly descriptions in XML format using TEI-P5 standard

Scholarly manuscript descriptions encoded in a specialized XML format are employed as metadata for the digitized manuscripts designed for this purpose. The XML format used complies with the Text Encoding Initiative guidelines for the electronic presentation of manuscript descriptions (TEI-P5).
Compliance with this international standard enables the exchange of metadata with other digitization projects, meta-search engines, and portal sites. In addition the structuring of metadata according to the TEI-P5 standard allows the assignment of metadata information to individual fields or substructures, enabling users to perform focused searches with a dedicated software tool for Author, Title of Work, Incipit, Decorative Elements, and so on, (for more information about the various Browse and Search functions of e-codices, see New Web Application).
Furthermore, the utilization of XML guarantees the long-term usability of the current metadata, independent of the need to use a particular software or edition of that software.

Presentation of Metadata on the e-codices site

Each digitized manuscript is accompanied by the most recent available scholarly description. These descriptions follow the published descriptions on which they are based as closely as possible. Users can also view the XML format/TEI-P5 versions of all online descriptions and, when available and authorized by the publisher, PDFs of the print versions as well.

Selection of Descriptions

One scholarly description of each manuscript has been selected by the manuscript owner library as the "standard description". Other, usually older or more discipline-specific descriptions are designated as "additional descriptions". In the long term, e-codices seeks to include all possible print descriptions, and when possible non-print ones as well. Increasingly, e-codices also makes use of new scholarly manuscript descriptions written expressly for the website:

http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/info/metadata

contents

Conservation Guidelines

During the digitalization process, the manuscripts need to be protected against wear and tear in order to ensure handling stresses remain BELOW those experienced during an average use of the manuscript in the reading room or during an exhibition. The "Graz Model" camera table, designed by Diplom Engineer Manfred Mayer sets a new standard for low-stress manuscript handling during photography. The digitalization of each item must follow clearly defined criteria:

High quality color digital images not only supplement the black-and-white microfilm images available up to now, but also provide a great deal more information about the objects photographed. Use of these images reduces the need for handling of the original objects, thus protecting them from excessive handling over time.
contents

Further Information

Find more information about the following topics on e-codices:

contents

 


Virtual Library | Project Description | Support | St. Gall Monastery Plan | Zurich Manuscripts | Contact

de | en | fr | it

Codices Electronici Sangallenses (CESG) - Description du projet

La Bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall, avec ses 2100 manuscrits, fait partie des plus anciennes et des plus célèbres bibliothèques de manuscrits du monde. La moitié des manuscrits date du Moyen-âge, et, parmi eux, près de 400 volumes furent écrits avant l'an mille. En 1983, l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall et ses environs furent élevés par l'UNESCO au rang de patrimoine culturel mondial. Le but du projet « Codices Electronici Sangallenses » (Bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall numérique) est de rendre accessible les manuscrits médiévaux et un choix de manuscrits de l’époque moderne de la Bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall dans une bibliothèque virtuelle.

CESG sur www.e-codices.unifr.ch

CESG fait aujourd’hui partie intégrante du projet qui lui a succédé, e-codices - bibliothèque virtuelle des manuscrits suisses. Le but d’e-codices serait de rendre accessible les manuscrits médiévaux et un choix des manuscrits de l’époque moderne de la Suisse dans une bibliothèque virtuelle. L’historique de CESG et e-codices a été décrit dans l’article « Praktische Internet-Ausgabe und Aura des Originals ».

Table des matières

 

Petit aperçu historique de la bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall

La bibliothèque abbatiale se distingue de par une continuité de 1200 ans. C'est la seule bibliothèque monastique du Moyen Âge qui est restée à son emplacement initial. Ses débuts remontent au VIIIe siècle. De la période d'apogée de l'abbaye du IXe au XIe siècle, il subsiste plusieurs centaines de manuscrits. A l'époque des abbés Ulrich Rösch et Franz Gaisberg au XVe et XVIe siècle, l'art livresque a connu une période de prospérité et de nombreux ouvrages de savants ont été acquis. La bibliothèque s'est enrichie d'une manière significative en manuscrits du Moyen Âge pendant le sacerdoce de l'avant-dernier prince-abbé Beda Angehrn (1767-1796). Malgré l'abolition du cloître Gallus en l'an 1805, la bibliothèque a pu être conservée au même endroit. Dès lors, la bibliothèque est sous l'égide d'une organisation institutionnelle constituée de membres de confession catholique du canton de Saint-Gall, la corporation de droit public des catholiques du canton de Saint-Gall. L'ensemble du complexe conventuel a été inscrit en 1983 sur la liste du patrimoine culturel de l'UNESCO. De nos jours, la bibliothèque est à la fois un lieu public d'études recherché par de nombreux savants de par le monde et un musée de par sa célèbre salle baroque.

table des matières

Projets achevés

Bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall numérique

Jusqu’à la fin de l’année 2009, plus de 300 manuscrits de la bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall, qui ont été écrits avant l’an 1000, ont été rendus accessibles sur e-codices. En autre, l’application-web a été développée pour que l’utilisateur puisse bénéficier d’un accès plus facile à la base de données en ligne. Ce projet a été soutenu par l’Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (New York).

Codices Augienses et Sangallenses dispersi

La plupart du temps, les manuscrits des bibliothèques médiévales ne se trouvent plus dans leur lieu d’origine. Cette règle vaut pour les manuscrits de Saint-Gall, mais surtout pour ceux de Reichenau. Grâce à une bibliothèque de manuscrits virtuelle, des collections dispersées peuvent être à nouveau réunies virtuellement. Dans le cadre du projet, jusqu’en fin 2009, une quarantaine de manuscrits des anciennes abbayes de Saint-Gall et de Reichenau, qui aujourd’hui sont conservés dans différentes collections suisses, ont été réunis virtuellement. Le projet a été soutenu par la Fondation Andrew W. Mellon (New York).

Manuscrits saint-gallois de Zurich

La seconde guerre de Villmergen dite guerre du Toggenbourg en 1712 - un conflit entre Saint-Gall et ses sujets protestants du Toggenbourg - se solda par la défaite des catholiques. Les troupes bernoises et zurichoises, victorieuses, s'emparèrent de la bibliothèque de l'Abbaye de Saint-Gall et d'autres biens culturels. Berne rendit plus tard le butin, Zurich conserva en particulier des manuscrits dérobés. La querelle autour de ces biens culturels entre Saint-Gall et Zurich ne fut résolue qu’en 2006 – après presque 300 ans – et un certain nombre de manuscrits furent prêtés à long terme à Saint-Gall. Le compromis incita la numérisation et la mise en ligne durant l'année 2007 de ces manuscrits en prêt permanent. Cette digitalisation fut réalisée avec le soutien de la collectivité de confession catholique et de l'office de la culture du canton de Saint-Gall.

"Salle au trésor" des écrits en ancien allemand à la bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall

Les germanistes désignent volontiers la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall comme la "Salle au trésor des écrits en ancien allemand". Nulle part ailleurs, autant du point de vue qualitatif que quantitatif, ne sont conservés en aussi grand nombre des témoins importants de la langue allemande. Grâce au soutien du "Cercle des amis de la Stiftsbibliothek", treize manuscrits significatifs en ancien allemand ont pu être numérisés: codd. Sang. 21 (Psautier en ancien allemand de Notker le Germanique), 56 (Harmonie des Evangiles de Tatien), 232, 242, 556, 643, 825 (traduction et commentaire en ancien allemand du "De consolatione philosophiae" de Boèce par Notker le Germanique), 872 (traduction et commentaire par le même auteur du "De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii" de Martianus Capella), 904 (Manuscrit irlandais de Priscien), 911 (Abrogans), 913, 916 (Règle de saint Benoît), 966.

Projet-Pilote : Bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall numérique

Dans le cadre du projet-pilote, 130 manuscrits de la bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall ont pu être numérisés (janvier 2005–décembre 2006). Ce projet-pilote fut réalisé avec le soutien des fondations suivantes: fondation Paul Schiller, UBS Kulturstiftung, fondation Ernst Göhner, fondation Otto Gamma, fondation du Jubilé de la Mobilière, fonds de la recherche de l'Université de Fribourg, fondation du Jubilé de la Zurich Financial Services Group et du Cercle des amis de la Stiftsbibliothek.

table des matières

 

Descriptions scientifiques des manuscrits et métadonnées

Il y a une trentaine d'années, encore quelque peu avant le temps de l'électronique et de la numérisation, la bibliothèque commença à réaliser un nouveau catalogue descriptif de tous les manuscrits médiévaux. Jusqu'alors, il n'y avait, pour l'ensemble des fonds, qu'un répertoire imprimé de 1875, un catalogue de Gustav Scherrer, avec une description des codices 1 à 1725, qui, avec sa mise en valeur rudimentaire, ne satisfait plus les exigences actuelles.

Le nouveau catalogage conforme aux directives de la « société de recherche allemande » (DFG) fut entamé il y a environ une trentaine d'années. Le résultat de cet effort de catalogage consiste en environ 480 manuscrits nouvellement présentés, étudiés du point de vue codicologique et paléographique, dont le contenu et la décoration ont été décrits. Parmi eux figurent 230 manuscrits du fonds médiéval. Il reste encore un long chemin à parcourir, jusqu'à ce que le but soit atteint et qu'au moins tous les manuscrits médiévaux soient recensés.

Bibliographie (cf. www.codices.ch)

Notices scientifiques en format XML d'après TEI-P5

Chaque manuscrit digitalisé est associé à une description scientifique convertie dans un format XML spécial. Ces textes bruts sont transformés en données XML selon le standard de la Text Encoding Initiative pour le traitement informatique des notices de manuscrits (TEI-P5), l’un des standards les plus largement répandus actuellement. Ainsi, l'utilisation des métadonnées, leur usage dans des métachercheurs et l'échange des données avec d'autres projets (de numérisation) sont garantis sur une longue durée, indépendamment du recours à un Software ou à un système en service en un temps donné.
La structuration des métadonnées d'après TEI-P5 permet l'évaluation et la recherche dans les notices des manuscrits selon différents critères (incipit, explicit, auteur, titre de l’oeuvre, provenance, ornement du livre; pour les fonctionnalités cf. nouvelle application web).

Affichage des métadonnées dans e-codices

Pour chaque manuscrit digitalisé, une description scientifique et des plus actuelles peut être affichée. Sur la page web d’e-codices, la description suit, autant que possible, celle de la version imprimée. De surcroît, pour chaque description de manuscrit, les données peuvent être affichées en format XML selon TEI-P5, et, dans la mesure où elles existent et que l’éditeur donne son autorisation, en PDF de la version imprimée.

Choix des descriptions

Une description scientifique est choisie par chaque bibliothèque comme « description standard ». D’autres descriptions, soit plus anciennes ou techniques, sont affichées en tant que « descriptions complémentaires ». e-codices essaie à long terme de répertorier toutes les descriptions imprimées, mais éventuellement aussi des descriptions inédites.
De plus en plus, de nouvelles descriptions scientifiques de manuscrits sont écrites pour e-codices:

http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/fr/info/metadata

table des matières

Directives pour la conservation

Durant la digitalisation des manuscrits, les atteintes occasionnées à l'objet devraient se limiter à une moyenne, située nettement en-dessous d'un usage moyen du manuscrit, par exemple dans une salle de lecture ou lors d'une exposition. L'appareil développé par l'ingénieur diplômé Manfred Mayer (Modèle Grazer) impose de nouveaux critères. La digitalisation suit des critères clairement définis:

La photographie couleur digitale de grande qualité ne se contente pas de compléter le microfilmage en noir et blanc qui se fait actuellement, mais les informations contenues vont bien au-delà. Par ce moyen disparaît la nécessité d'utiliser des originaux coûteux; ceux-ci sont par conséquent ménagés à long terme.

table des matières

Informations complémentaires

Vous trouverez des informations complémentaires sur les thèmes suivants chez e-codices:

table des matières

 


Bibliothèque virtuelle | Description du projet | Soutien et subsides | Le plan de Saint-Gall | Manuscrits zurichois | Contact